Writing Challenge

So I gave myself a Writing Challenge today:

Writing Challenge: Give me a word. Within the day, I will make a story using all the random words given to me. If I fail to do include your word, or failed to do the whole thing entirely, I owe you a dare. Only valid until 1:16pm. One person = One word.

End time: 2.30pm.
Words: Banana, Coitus, Giraffe, Tilapia and Erinaceous
A/N: In just an hour, I have written a half-assed tragic love story about a giraffe and a fish. Ok, please don’t hit me if it’s bad. Not physically, anyway. Enjoy!


The giraffe, who fancied himself to be called G, met a fish one summer afternoon in the zoo. She was all he’d ever hoped to have, and some would argue that she looked the same as every other fish in the sea. And by ‘sea’ I meant ‘fish tank inside the zoo’s restaurant’.

G’s friends, particularly the monkeys who lived quite near his area, would question his sanity and confront him about it sometimes. And by ‘sometimes’, they actually mean ‘every single day’. They’d ask why he gave himself a name. They’d ask why he fell in love with a fish. They’d ask how they’d plan to do coitus. They’d ask how they met. All of their questions were ignored, except the last.

“You see,” G began, and the monkeys groaned. They didn’t know which was worse – to be ignored, or to be forced to listen to G begin his love story with hearts in his eyes. They grumbled and ate their bananas, knowing full well that they have no choice. Still, no matter how well they knew that G won’t simply tell a short story, they listened. Particularly because they were curious. And because these were the first words he have ever spoken ever since they moved in to the zoo a few months ago. “Here I was, eating grass and minding my own business…

“That morning, the aquarium came in, and in it was a school of tilapia fishes. The restaurant has been finished the day before that, and they hadn’t had time to prepare it just yet. So they moved the aquarium across my place, and left it there.Then, I saw her. I knew she was different from the others, no matter how similar they all looked like. She was restless, always swimming about, muttering something under her breath. All of a sudden, she jumped out of the tank. No one else was around. Just me. Everyone else was too far, animal and human alike. And I just… stared as she gaped and hopped about.

‘What are you doing?’ I asked her. And she looked up. She began to look like she was running out of air, panting and wheezing. I saw something in her eyes though – fear. Soon, the zookeepers found out what happened, and put her back in the tank. She swam about, still restless, bumping into her kins and occassionally, she would look at me. And I would continue on staring.

‘Why are you looking at me like that?’ she asked, irritated.

‘I’m just wondering why you did that. Why you would do something like that to yourself, when it was so clear you didn’t want it.’

The fish swam away, and if I didn’t know any different, I’d say she was embarassed. ‘Do you know what they do to fishes inside that place?’ she asked, her head pointing towards the restaurant which was still unprepared. She looked at me. ‘They slaughter us. This… tank? It’s a slaughterhouse. I’m going to die anyway, but I won’t allow myself to be eaten by these… these humans!’

‘So you’d rather do it by your own hands?’ I stated skeptically.

She scoffed. ‘Of course, you wouldn’t understand. An animal like yourself would never be eaten by these beasts. You’re completely safe inside those fences.’

‘I’m G,’ I stated.

‘Oh? A giraffe who fancies himself a name?’ She said, startled. ‘That’s a first. Why would you do that?’

‘I want to be different,’ I confessed. ‘But I’ve heard from others that being different gets you hurt. I’m not sure if naming myself is a good idea, but it’s too late now. Every animal’s started calling me G.’

‘Nothing would ever hurt you, G. I, on the other hand…’ She’d started looking at the restaurant again. ‘I don’t know how long I’ll live.’

I saw something in that fish that I’d never seen before in any other animal in the zoo – consciousness. A will to fight, to survive. Every lion, monkey, bird, tiger and erinaceous animal in this zoo were all facing something similar: captivity. A lifetime of imprisonment with an unhealthy amount of benefits and privileges. I had never thought that a haven for animals such as this would have the owners slaughter another specie of animal for other humans to eat. Just because ’tilapia’ wasn’t a rare breed, it doesn’t give humans the right to just slaughter them.

Then, I was hit by the fact that no other animal knew about this, or that some knew, but never bothered enough to care. Too selfish and too busy eating the food given to them, never knowing that within a few miles away from them, their brothers and sisters from the sea were being fried.

The door to the restaurant opened and a human walked out. I felt a sudden rush of panic. I looked at the fish, and said, ‘And I don’t know how long I have with you.’

‘Not long enough,’ she said as if in defeat as the human approached the tank. ‘It’s been nice meeting you, my long-necked friend. I’ve never met an animal such as yourself. Perhaps, I never will.’

‘I just want to tell you before you go,’ my voice rose and quickened as the human pushed the tank. ‘That you’re a one-of-a-kind fish! I’ve never fought for my life before, and it’s because I never thought it’d be worth fighting for. Not until now, now that I realize… you have always fought for yours since the day you were born. You’re…’ she’s so close to leaving, so close to losing her, she’s going away, ‘I’ve never met anyone like you! Perhaps I never will! You… No, no! Please don’t go away!’

I didn’t care that I was almost whining like an animal that was about to be slaughtered. I didn’t care that all the other animals were staring at me like some deranged monkey.

‘My name’s G and I’m a giraffe and I met a beautiful fish and I…’ the tank went inside, the door closed, and the last thing I saw was the fish staring back, face unreadable. I forced the few last words out of my mouth, but couldn’t.”

By this time, the monkeys have fallen asleep, and the world continued on spinning, and the humans continued on entering and leaving the restaurant, but no animal ever came back. He never even knew her name, if she even had one.

The giraffe, who fancied himself to be called G, lost the one animal he would ever love one summer afternoon in the zoo. She was all he’d ever hoped to have, and some would ask if she’s happy wherever she is. And by ‘wherever she is’, they meant the ‘fish tank inside the zoo’s restaurant’. G would never reply, has never uttered a word ever since, not until another new animal passes by and asks how he and the fish had met.

-end-

Leave a Reply

