‘Thor 2: The Dark World’ – A slightly coherent Film Review

First of all, it was WORTH THE WAIT.

 

It had everything I ever expected – an exploration of the other realms, a slight peek at a daily life in Asgard (we only saw the throne room and the relic room in the first movie), more mAGIC AND ASGARDIAN/ALIEN STUFF, bromance, epic action battles, more loki sympathy, death. The feeling of glory, the feeling of pain, of triumph.

 

I’ve never felt so alive.

 [warning: contains major spoilers. read at your own risk]

Frigga was absolutely epic. I love how the scriptwriter and director made us love Firgga more before they killed her. It absolutely broke my heart when they did her funeral. I wept, and felt their pain. Especially Loki’s.

 

I love the scene between Frigga and Loki. It was beautifully written and interpreted. To the director of the film, I hope you pat yourself in the back. You did a fantastic job. Every line they say to each other was like a punch in my gut. And in the end, as Loki tried to hold his mother’s hand, she disappears. And we realize that she wasn’t truly there all along.

 

She was never truly there, the whole time.

 

And then there was that scene where Thor came down to see his brother. That pained me, because, honestly, compare it to the trailer.

 

In the trailer, we saw glimpses of Loki and his cell – a complete mess. We saw him move the chairs and tables without using physical force. We saw his hollow eyes, and an expression of hopelessness as Thor spoke to him. And we assume that… This is what Asgard has done to him. Odin has punished him.

 

But in the movie, it was different. Marvel made us have a uniform assumption based on the trailer that was completely different from the film itself. It was brilliant.

 

In the movie, Thor comes down, and Loki talks to him casually. He looks healthy, his place is tidy. Then Thor tells him, “Enough with the lies” and we see Loki set a hard face and BAM

 

He was disguising himself all along. A hard shell to cover a soft core. An illusion to cover his vulnerability, his pain. And the thing is, I can almost imagine what had happened. Handprints on the wall, his foot bleeding, his hair dishevelled, all the furnitures broken… Such chaos, such a pained, broken heart. And the thing is, the last thing they talked about was:

 

“He’s not my father!”

“Then am I not your mother?”

“No. You are not.”

 

That’s the last thing he told her. That was the last thing she ever heard from him.

 

 

Okay, now let’s talk about mirrors:

 

Both movies of ‘Thor’ began with Odin speaking of the past. We are introduced to the main villain, their main goal, and how Asgard’s warriors kicked their sorry butts down to the pits of hell.

 

Then, there was Heimdall’s scene. In both movies, Heimdall defied his king. Twice, he did it for Thor.

 

Let’s fast forward to the movie, allll the way to when Loki and Thor were fighting Malekith in that abandoned planet filled with dust. Right after Loki cut Thor’s hand, and restored it back again, they got into a huge epic fight with the dark elves. As Malekith leaves, he tosses a red grenade at the brothers’ direction. I panicked, as Loki was lifted off his feet. He tried desparately to hold on, but he was simply grabbing thin air.

 

Now remember that scene, and compare it to the scene in the first ‘Thor’ movie, where Loki let go of the sceptre. I don’t know how Tom Hiddleston did it, but he captured that same lost expression in his eyes. I will never forget that. That one millisecond of realization that this was his end, because once you get sucked into that red portal, you never come back.

 

But he didn’t get sucked into nonexistence. Because Thor was there to save him. (and my gawhd how it hurt me to realize this but) Thor was probably thinking, “I got you, brother. I lost you once, and I thought you dead. I will not allow myself to lose you again. Not again.” As he saved Loki, as he flew in to push him away from that vaccuum, I know for a fact that that’s what he was thinking. And I know that both of them were reminiscing that scene, too. And all those unspoken words will remain unspoken.

 

Next is the brothers’ relationship. In the end of the first movie, Thor assumes that Loki is dead. The same thing happens for this second movie. And the thing is, Thor would have to suffer through that same “I thought you dead” phase he was having in ‘The Avengers’. I have a feeling Loki truly means to break Thor, emotionally. He’s pushing the guy on the edge, without even a single amount of fear that Thor would let go.

 

 

I just absolutely love the banter between them as they tried to escape Asgard. I had such a good laugh, but at the same time, my face was twisted in pain because this was how they used to be. I got what I wanted, and it was this – to see them the way they were before. Or at least, how I imagined they would be before. Before Loki knew of his true heritage.

Their knowing looks as Thor flew the Dark Elvish spaceship, Thor carelessly snapping at Loki to shut up even when Loki hadn’t even uttered a word, Loki being all sarcastic… It was brilliantly written. That, I can observe.

 

And I’d just like to appreciate, congratulate, respect and love every single person who helped create the whole thing, especially Loki’s character. With all the fanfiction I had read, I half-feared that they wouldn’t do Loki’s character any justice in the canon films. But I was proven wrong.

 

Loki, in this film, was the very epitome of chaos, danger, lies and mischief. His very presence screams of terror. His eyes promise death, and if not death – torture. He was an enigma.

 

He wasn’t the villain in this film – not even a sidekick. He wasn’t standing side by side with Malekith. Loki was a catalyst. He was his own being, and as the world burnt in flames, he settled his own matters with a heart of ice. While Thor tried to save the nine realms, Loki approached the All-Father. He had a plan of his own.

 

Like in the Avengers, it was hard to dissect his mind. It was hard to tell what was carefully planned out, and what was simply an improvisation. In the end, it always feels like Loki won in the end. No matter where he goes. No matter what happens to him. Loki is always the winner. And I applaud the crew, especially Tom Hiddleston, for making Loki as real as he could be.

 

I noticed one flaw, though.

 

In the very last scene, we see Thor and Odin (who was actually Loki in disguise) talking. The first words we here in this scene is a reminiscence of the last scene in the first movie.

 

“You told me that there were no other wiser kings other than I… You were wrong.”

 

So what’s wrong in this picture?

 

The Odin in ‘Thor 2’ is not the real Odin. That’s Loki. So how did he know about Thor and Odin’s talk in the first movie, if he was not there when they were talking about it?

 

 

Leave a Reply

